Kohli Breaks Records, Bags Fourth ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023

529 Views Add a Comment
1 Min Read

Virat Kohli, the Indian batting maestro, was crowned the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year 2023 for his excellent run in the format last year, headlined by a phenomenal outing in the World Cup at home. This is the fourth such award for Kohli, who was the second most prolific run-scorer in ODIs last year behind compatriot Shubman Gill.

Kohli amassed 1377 runs in 27 matches at an average of 72.47, with six centuries and eight half-centuries. He also became the first player to score 50 ODI hundreds, breaking the record of Sachin Tendulkar. He was the player of the tournament at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, where he scored a record 765 runs in 11 innings, including three centuries and one in the semi-final against New Zealand.

Kohli received the award from ICC Chief Executive David Richardson in a virtual ceremony on January 25, 2024. He thanked his teammates, coaches, family, and fans for their support and said he was honored to receive the award for the fourth time. He also congratulated Pat Cummins, who was announced as the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year 2023

Share This Article
Leave a review